Sign in with your NHL account:
  • Submit
  • Or
  • Sign in with Google
Dallas
Stars
42-35-5
Calgary
Flames
37-29-16
SO
40 SOG
38 SOG
1st2nd3rdOTsoT
DAL ()
CGY ()
  • Preview
  • Watch
  • Ice Tracker
  • Boxscore
  • Recap
  • photos (39)
game preview

Stars continue trip with a stop in Calgary

Wednesday, 08.06.2014 / 2:48 AM

Deborah Francisco - NHL.com Staff Writer

Share with your Friends


Stars continue trip with a stop in Calgary
Dallas Stars vs. Calgary Flames

STARS (34-26-5) AT FLAMES (29-25-11)

TV: FS-Southwest; SNET-West (HD)

LAST 10: Dallas 6-2-2; Calgary 4-3-3

Season Series: This is just the second of four meetings between these two Western Conference rivals. Dallas won the first one with a 3-2 overtime victory at the American Airlines Center on Feb. 16..

Big Story: The eighth-place Stars continue their Western Canada swing with a stop in Calgary, where the Flames desperately need a win. Calgary starts the night in 11th place in the West, but a win will move the Flames within two points of the Stars.

Team Scope:

Stars: Dallas is 5-0-1 in its last six games and has notched at least three goals in each of those six contests. Dallas has outscored its opposition 19-9 and have only allowed one power-play goal in that span, improving from 21st to 14th on the penalty kill.

The Stars started their trip with a 3-1 victory in Edmonton on Friday. After the Stars play the Flames on Sunday they will travel to Vancouver for a Tuesday night meeting with one of the top teams in the Western Conference. While the Stars are in eighth place in the West, they are just two points away from the Pacific Division lead

"It sounds like a broken record every night, but we're in a dogfight," defenseman Sheldon Souray said. "We're looking at the standings every night, and we're trying to take care of our own business. We were strong when we had to be, and got the two points. We needed this win. We're gaining confidence and we're learning that it's going to take everybody playing hard every night to get the results we want."

Flames: Calgary is back at the Scotiabank Saddledome after perhaps its most painful loss of the season. The Flames took a 14-game losing streak at Anaheim into Friday's game against the Ducks, and saw their slide reach 15 games when Ryan Getzlaf scored with 46 seconds left in regulation for a 3-2 victory.

"It's a game we have to come out of with points," forward Mike Cammalleri said. "Not good enough. I don't know what else to say. To give up a goal with 40 seconds left … really unacceptable with where we're sitting right now."

Who's Hot: Dallas' Michael Ryder has four goals and two assists in a five-game points streak. … Calgary's Curtis Glencross has goals in the Flames' last three games.

Injury Report: Dallas captain Brenden Morrow (neck/back) and forward Jake Dowell (finger) are on injured reserve. … Calgary is missing defenseman Chris Butler (lacerated leg) and forwards Lee Stempniak (high ankle sprain), Blair Jones (ankle) and Mikael Backlund (arm).

Stat Pack: The Stars have yet to lose to a Canadian opponent in regulation this season. … Dallas center Mike Ribeiro has six goals and 12 points in his last six games against the Flames.

Puck Drop: Finland's finest will face each other between the pipes on Sunday as the two winningest Finnish-born goaltenders in NHL history will go head to head. Calgary's Miikka Kiprusoff is first with 304 wins while Kari Lehtonen is second with 159 victories.

2011-2012 season series
DateScoreW. Goal
Mar 26 '12DAL 4 at CGY 5A. Tanguay
Mar 24 '12CGY 1 at DAL 4M. Ryder
Mar 04 '12DAL 3 at CGY 2 - SOJ. Benn
Feb 16 '12CGY 2 at DAL 3 - OTM. Ribeiro
PlayerGPGAP+/-PIMPPGW
L. Eriksson66223759+17643
J. Benn55183351+144925
M. Ryder66282149+173265
M. Ribeiro59143549+44424
S. Ott60102232+412442
A. Goligoski5581826-21421
B. Morrow4381422+27441
T. Daley6341822+22212
R. Dvorak6641721-101200
E. Nystrom6116420-32201
V. Fiddler6671320-84001
S. Souray5361420+166321
S. Robidas6041418+03621
A. Burish4961016+25201
T. Wandell616915-51400
T. Vincour34347-6201
P. Larsen39167+101400
T. Petersen38235-7600
J. Dowell43145-34300
N. Grossmann52055+02600
R. Garbutt9101+0001
M. Fistric50011-23500
A. Pardy26011-61000
J. Benn2011+0000
K. Barch10000-22300
F. Wathier1000+0000
M. Fraser1000+0000
GoalieGPRec.GASAGAASv%
K. Lehtonen4626-15-410413332.29.922
R. Bachman147-3-1323792.58.916
A. Raycroft102-8-0313033.52.898
PlayerGPGAP+/-PIMPPGW
O. Jokinen66203353+24674
J. Iginla66252752-73564
A. Tanguay50103040+62401
C. Glencross51221537-43772
M. Cammalleri59151833-102033
L. Stempniak51121224-11412
J. Bouwmeester6642024-132221
R. Bourque3813316-34131
M. Giordano4551116-15130
C. Butler6021113-33000
T. Brodie5221113+11412
B. Comeau614711-142200
M. Backlund414711-131622
B. Morrison284711-1600
S. Hannan622911-62400
T. Kostopoulos654610-135311
R. Horak533710+41401
D. Smith382810-11201
M. Stajan45369-112500
B. Jones35347-21601
T. Jackman66167-198800
D. Moss18156+1800
P. Byron22325+3201
C. Sarich50145-45600
A. Babchuk18055+1200
N. Hagman8134+3211
L. Bouma23123-4900
K. Kolanos10011+0200
J. Piskula5000-5200
P. Letourneau-Leblond3000+11000
G. Desbiens2000+0500
C. Wilson2000+0200
G. Nemisz2000+0000
B. Carson2000-2000
R. Ivanans1000-1000
GoalieGPRec.GASAGAASv%
M. Kiprusoff5728-19-813016562.34.921
L. Irving61-2-3182143.22.916
H. Karlsson70-4-1191803.45.894